President Trump in Portsmouth, UK. 75th Anniversary of D-Day

British Paratroopers sit across from their former selves. Photo taken on D-Day.

Brit Paratroopers

The President, FLOTUS, the Queen and other leaders are already there.

Trump Queen Melania

Today we commemorate the effort of the Allies. D-Day is considered one of the largest military operations in history. It included over 5,000 vessels and ships, nearly 11,000 planes and over 130,000 ground troops. 📷 The landing beaches and tide clock used in preparation for D-Day at Southwick House, Portsmouth.

Live Link from ABC:

Live link from the UK:  Link

By now, most of you have heard about Piers Morgan’s interview with the President. Here is the interview in its entirety: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cZ5K6opeIyw&feature=youtu.be

Schedule for Day 3

9:35am BST / 4:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart London, United Kingdom, en route to Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom, London, United Kingdom

10:25am BST / 5:25am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

10:35am BST / 5:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southsea Castle Landing Zone en route to Southsea Common, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

10:40am BST / 5:40am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Common, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

10:45am BST / 5:45am EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a photo opportunity with leaders attending an event to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of D-Day, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

11:15am BST / 6:15am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in an event to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of D-Day, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

12:45pm BST / 7:45am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a meet and greet with Her Majesty the Queen and D-Day Veterans, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

1:00pm BST / 8:00am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY bid farewell to Her Majesty the Queen, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

1:10pm BST / 8:10am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a reception with His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales and other leaders attending the D-Day Commemoration, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

1:35pm BST / 8:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY participate in a meet and greet with United States Service Members, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

2:05pm BST / 9:05am EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a Luncheon at the D-Day Commemoration, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

2:50pm BST / 9:50am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southsea Commons en route to Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

2:55pm BST / 9:55am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southsea Castle Landing Zone, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

3:05pm BST / 10:05am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Portsmouth, United Kingdom, en route to Southampton Airport, Southampton, United Kingdom, Portsmouth, United Kingdom

3:25pm BST / 10:25am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Southampton Airport, Southampton, United Kingdom

3:35pm BST / 10:35am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Southampton Airport en route Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland, Southampton, United Kingdom

U.K State Visit Concludes ~

4:50pm IST / 11:50am EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland

5:00pm IST / 12:00pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon Airport en route to Shannon Airport Terminal, Shannon, Ireland

5:05pm IST / 12:05pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport Terminal, Shannon, Ireland

5:15pm IST / 12:15pm EST THE PRESIDENT participates in a bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Taoiseach Leo Varadkar of Ireland, Shannon, Ireland

5:20pm IST / 12:20pm EST THE PRESIDENT participates in an expanded bilateral meeting with Prime Minister Taoiseach Leo Varadkar of Ireland, Shannon, Ireland

6:00PM IST / 1:00pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon Airport Terminal en route to Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland

6:05pm IST / 1:05PM EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland

6:15pm IST / 1:15pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY depart Shannon, Airport, en route to Trump International Doonbeg Landing Zone, Doonbeg, Ireland, Shannon, Ireland

6:35pm IST / 1:35pm EST THE PRESIDENT and THE FIRST LADY arrive at Trump International Doonbeg Landing Zone, Doonbeg, Ireland

The Queen is also at the D-Day Aniversary, along with other world leaders.

Here is the White House video compilation of Day 2, released from the President’s Twitter Feed.

 

While we were waiting for the President to speak. I decided to check out the Trump Golf Facility at Doonbeg. It looks like what we might imagine heaven to look like.

green

55 thoughts on “President Trump in Portsmouth, UK. 75th Anniversary of D-Day

  1. Here we go:

    Liked by 17 people

        1. I clicked on one of this ads, there were 35 slides on AF1. It is actually 3 stories, didn’t know that. 80 some odd phone lines, 270+ miles of cables throughout. 2 Kitchens. Nuclear blast proof, has defensive measures. Press is sealed off, their own companies pay for their travel, that’s good.

          Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m not sure he’s any safer at home. Remember overseas they have limited windows of opportunity whilst at home he’s got a much more regular schedule. Also smuggling sams into the us is a hellofalot easier. London was locked down for Potus visit but you can’t lock down Washington on a daily basis.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The top photo, which has been around for a while, always amazed me. The paratroopers had such high mortality rates. How did they find a whole plane load that survived the whole war?

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It wasn’t the defences that we’re their biggest problems. They were jumping at night with primitive navigation into very dangerous terrain. Forrest’s, swamps etc.MANY drowned or were injured. No night vision goggles or gps. Didn’t know exactly where they were on landing. No coms so hard to group up. Perfect storm for friendly fire accidents. Plus the French resistance were out in force as well. ( no insignia)

        Liked by 2 people

        1. Good point; I’ll amend my suggestion to “perhaps they landed on farmland.”

          But we can’t know unless someone asks them, assuming old age hasn’t done what D-Day didn’t, since the picture was taken.

          Liked by 3 people

  3. My father jumped Normandy as a pathfinder 2nd battalion stick 10 in the early hours of June 6th to set up radar for the incoming planes carrying the 2nd battalion 505th regiment of the 82nd Airborne Division to seize Sainte Mere- Eglise. http://505rct.org/images/2505pfdr.jpg
    click on the link of a photo shot June 5th as they were preparing to leave England for D-day.
    He is the #4 trooper in the pic.
    Maybe the fact that his father back in Kentucky who was a minister praying for his first born to make it home alive?
    The ol’ man made it after making all combat jumps with the division and being trucked into the Battle of the Bulge.
    I honestly believe it was a miracle he made it home.

    Liked by 10 people

  4. This day is always special for me b/c all the soldiers in the UK were being told late June 5th Operation Overlord is a Go!
    Many of our young men died and bled for freedom and the sense of duty they had the next day.

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Tomorrow is my husband’s birthday. His father was an LST Commander, delivering soldiers to the beaches. He always said, his first born son, on D-Day, was a gift from God.

      Liked by 8 people

      1. LST = Landing Ship Tank.
        Those thing were big and delivered a lot more than tanks.
        Your father-in-law was one of the greatest generation too.
        And your hubby was born on D-Day?
        Hard to miss his birthday!

        Liked by 5 people

      1. Are you referring to Melania’s Hat?

        If you are – No – that is a hat similar to the one Princess Diana wore in her day – very English – I would say

        Liked by 4 people

          1. No – the brim is very wide – and the crown is quite small – ‘pillbox’ does not have a wide brim – think Jackie Kennedy – for ‘pillbox’

            Liked by 3 people

  5. I spent hours loading photos into our groups.
    The people really do appreciate them. This forum is quirky and does not handle photo albums well.
    UK Daily Mail and BBC have LOADS of photos. Reuters and AP have also done well.
    CBS in the USA is the worst.

    Liked by 6 people

  6. The video link in your post has been taken down for copyright infringement. Seems the British are stingy on presenting the entire interview. Maybe a transcript will surfaces.

    Meanwhile Piers Morgan defends our Lion nicely in the post interview interview.

    Liked by 6 people

  7. DNW. thank you so much for your series of threads on PT’s visit. I haven’t been able tokeep up with it at all, and am very happy to be able to come back to wqth and catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s